top of page
Search
  • stalararunsiahyd

Nancy Pearl Librarian of the Year: The Creator of the "If All Seattle Read The Same Book" Project



Pearl is among the best known librarians in the country, her nearly-40-year career having taken her to library systems in Detroit, Tulsa, and Seattle where she was executive director of the Washington (state) Center for the Book. Washington Post critic Ron Charles is to present the award to her at the in-person ceremony planned for the program in November.




nancy pearl librarian of the year




Pearl, a darling of the library world, hosts a TV show about reading and is regularly heard touting the pleasures of books on radio stations across the country. In 2011, Library Journal named her librarian of the year.


This year, Seattle librarian Nancy Pearl has focused her reading recommendations on great stories that will also teach you something about the real world. She says there are plenty of readers who find that "fiction gives you the truth of history and nonfiction gives you the facts." With that in mind, she shares the following titles with Morning Edition's Steve Inskeep.


Nancy Pearl's "favorite" in the nonfiction category this year was "The Hare With Amber Eyes" by Edmund de Waal (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, $26). "The author, a potter and curator of ceramics at the Victoria & Albert Museum, contemplates the history of his ancestors -- a fabulously wealthy Jewish banking family -- from the latish 19th century through World War II," she says of the book on nancypearl.com.


Nancy Pearl:My gosh. I had this wonderful librarian when I was a kid at my public library in Detroit, Michigan. It was the Parkman Branch Library. And I was one of those, I grew up in a house that that would now be called dysfunctional, but back then, I just knew it wasn't where I wanted to be and it just didn't feel very safe to me. So, I spent all my time at the library and Ms. Whitehead, my librarian at my library, that's how I thought about it. Ms. Whitehead really, really recognized my needs to be... really, she opened the world to me, which is what librarians do. And when she met me, all I read were horse and dog books. I was about eight years old. 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page